Danielle Callins

“Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent. OWN IT!!”




Selected Works:

“Like a Flower”

 

Like a flower

her dress spreads.

her hair waves.

her smile gifts.

 

Dancing

with no fears

with no worries.

Dancing

with love.

 

In a room

with a single flower

In a room

with her heart.

 

She blossoms

into who

she was meant to be.

Who she wanted to be.

 

Like a flower

She looks

She grows

She illuminates

 

Her name is Flower.


“To Infinity and Beyond.”

 

Let me be your Horton.

I wanna hear you

Because you have the voice of Aphrodite.

 

Let me be Scooby Doo.

I wanna know you

Because I know you are

Bigger on the inside.

 

Let me be your Dr. Seuss.

I wanna make you smile and giggle

Because when you do

Everything is better.

 

Because you are my solar flare.

You are a lunar eclipse.

 

You captured me in your nebula.

I just can’t help but stare at your planets.

 

Your constellations are my fireflies.

Shining like a comet in my orbit.

 

You are a shooting star only brighter.

Blinding me with your light.

 

Let me be your Dinosaur Train

So I can show you something

Beyond your solar system.

 


“You and Me”

 

You and Me

Black and White

Complete opposites at first.

 

You claim

you love me

the way I am.

 

You claim

You love me

To the end.

 

You change me.

I change you.

 

I push

You pull.

I walk out.

You walk in.

 

But Black is the absence of white

And white is the absence of black.

 

Without you

I’m a lightning bolt

without thunder.

 

Without you

I’m a H₂O

without O

 

Without you

I’m a shark

without teeth.

 

Also known as a Basking Shark

but that is the only exception.

 

With you

I am suppressed

By your invasion.

 

There is no room for the both of us.

There is too much room for just one of us.

Leave a Reply

