Joe Wright

 

“Joe is an aspiring vaper who also loves to write comedy, short stories, and self-deprecating jokes. He plays the viola in Lincoln Youth Symphony and also tutors beginners on viola and violin (contact me for more info)”




Selected Works:

#Deep: A deep poem of eternal deepness

I walk outside of my home and step into the empty suburb

Am I the only one awake? THe only one awake on this physical plane that we call Earth?

#Deep

As I walk down the boulevard of broken dreams. I remember watching a video of a young millennial flipping a water bottle

Is the flipping of the water bottle reminiscent of our racial struggle in the modern day?

#Deep

I decide to put in my generic apple earbuds and listen to generic emo music

I find that my left earbud does not play sound anymore

Does this loss of sound in my left earbud represent the failed coup in Turkey?

#Deep

With the loss of the only sound I hold dear, I see a young child selling lemonade

Did the child’s father set the child out to sell lemonade to learn the hardships of capitalism?

#Deep

I see a car rush past me, it’s a 2011 Jeep Cherokee

Does the rushing of the car represent the rush of immigrants in the Eurpoean Union?

#Deep

I think to myself, I am only a spec, a spec to never make a mark on the world

Or maybe I am too large for the world that I inhabit

I am the modern day Gandhi in scene clothing

A man walks up to me and asks for the directions to the nearest church

I tell him that there is no church in the wild

We stare at eachother and as we open our mouths we both say

#Deep


Leave a Reply

